How to Enter

Architecture award submissions are made via an online entry system, and supplemented with additional entry materials – a digital presentation and exhibition board – which are both used as part of the presentation to jury and for later public display.

NB: NSW Prizes are either awarded to relevant entries in the Awards submission pool, or are presented following an open call for independent nominations each year. Prizes open for nomination include the Marion Mahony Griffin Prize, Adrian Ashton Prize for architecture in the media, David Lindner Prize and Emerging Architect Prize. Please see the Awards Categories and Prizes page for more information.

 Entering the Newcastle Architecture Awards? Please visit our dedicated information page for details of award categories, key dates and how to enter. 

Online submissions for 2017 NSW Architecture Award entries are now closed. Entries for the 2018 Awards program open in November.  

Online entry


Before starting an entry, members are strongly advised to read through the 2017 NSW Architecture Awards Entry Handbook and National Awards Policy 2017, which includes all relevant requirements for both state and national awards.

 We are pleased to launched a new online entry platform for 2017. To begin your entry you are required to first register an account. Anyone can submit entry materials on behalf of the Institute member entering, however please note that the email address entered at registration will receive all automated notifications for the entry. 

Entries are required to include a selection of digital images, drawings and plans which are also submitted via the online  system. Online entries should be completed, paid and submitted before the closing date.

Additional compulsory entry materials

In addition to your online entry, entrants must produce a display board and digital presentation for the jury to support their entry.

  • Consent forms: It is the entrant’s responsibility to ensure copyright consent is in place for before entering the project, including use of all submitted materials. Consent forms A,B & C are provided for this purpose, and should be signed and uploaded as part of your online entry – refer to the Entry Handbook for more information. 
  • Display board: This A1 exhibition board will be used for consideration by the jury, and may also go on public display as part of an exhibition of entries. 
  • Digital Presentations: An electronic presentation is required for your presentation to the jury. Technical specifications apply – please refer to the guidance documents below. Presentations should ideally be delivered with your board by USB. Electronic file transfer is also accepted only if delivery to the Chapter office is not possible, and should be requested in advance of the submission date. 

**Please ensure you refer to the NSW ENTRY MATERIAL REQUIREMENTS 2017 for strictly required specs and formats – alterations and replacements to these materials will not be possible following the closing date.

Please note: Each individual entry is expected to be accompanied by its own presentation board and digital presentation, even where the same project has been entered into multiple categories (e.g. 2 category entries = 2 exhibition boards and 2 USBs). This allows us to feature your project in multiple categories in future exhibitions, and helps us in preparing the jury presentation days.

Additional presentation materials should be delivered to the NSW Chapter offices on or before the deadline of Friday 24 February 2017 (by 5pm).


 Key Dates 2017

  • Entries open (via online entry system): Monday 5 December 2016
  • Entries Close: Wednesday 22 February 2017 (submitted online by 11.59PM AEDT)
  • Additional entry materials: Friday 24 February 2017 (delivered to the NSW Chapter office by 5PM)
  • Presentation to jury days: Friday 17 and Saturday 18 March 2017 (Individual presentation date and time will be provided asap following the Awards submission deadline. Please see the Juries and Selection Process pages for further guidance and details of this year’s juries).
  • Jury site visits: 3-7 April 2017 (Applicants notified individually if visit is requested by the jury)
  • NSW Awards Presentation Evening: Saturday 1 July 2017

Important Guidance Documents


To enter the National Architecture Awards, entrants must be a registered architect and Institute member. Entrants must be registered in the state or territory of entry, and be a principal of the practice who is an owner, or a formal licensee of the copyright in the work being entered. Where the entrant is a formal licensee (does not own the copyright), the entry must be accompanied by a written agreement from the copyright owner stating that the work may be entered for an award.

To be eligible, projects must have reached practical completion by 31 December in the year preceding the year of judging. Projects are to be entered in the Chapter or Region where they are located, not where the entrant or practice is located. Entrants who have carried out projects outside of Australia may enter those projects in the International category.

Entries may be judged at the National Awards level only once. Therefore, any project that has previously been awarded a Named Award or Architecture Award are not not eligible for any future awards program, except where the award was given for Sustainable Architecture. Projects awarded a Commendation are eligible for future award programs.

For full eligibility criteria please refer to the 2017 Awards Entry Handbook and the Awards Policy.