



MEDIA RELEASE 21 June 2013 Strictly Embargoed until 11pm AEST Friday 21 June NOTE: Winners NOT to be notified in advance

2013 Victorian Architecture Awards – Winners List

Public Architecture (New)

William Wardell Award for Public Architecture - RMIT Design Hub – Sean Godsell Architects in association with Peddle Thorp Architects
Award - Penleigh and Essendon Grammar Senior School– McBride Charles Ryan
Award - South Morang Rail Extension – Cox Architecture
Award - Swanston Academic Building – Lyons
Commendation - Bayside Police Station, Sandringham – fmjt (Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp)
Commendation - La Trobe Institute for Molecular Science - Lyons
Commendation - The Richard & Elizabeth Tudor Centre for Contemporary Learning, Trinity Grammar – McIntyre Partnership

Jury

Kristen Whittle (Chair) – Bates Smart; John Lee – McGlashan Everist; Ninotschka Titchkosky – BVN Donovan Hill

Public Architecture (Alterations & Additions)

Award - Hamer Hall – ARM Architecture **Award -** Institute of Koorie Education, Deakin University – Gregory Burgess Architects

Jury

Philip Harmer (Chair) – Harmer Architecture; Rosemary Burne – Billard Leece Partnership; Nick Searle – Searle x Waldron Architecture

<u>Urban Design</u>

Joseph Reed Award for Urban Design - Revitalising Central Dandenong: Lonsdale Street Redevelopment – BKK/TCL Partnership Award - Serrata Docklands – Hayball Pty Ltd Award - South Morang Rail Extension – Cox Architecture Commendation - Langtree Mall Pavilion – Bellemo & Cat

Jury

Adrian FitzGerald (Chair) – Denton Corker Marshall; Jill Garner – Office of the Victorian Government Architect; Ben Puddy – NH Architecture





Commercial Architecture

Sir Osborn McCutcheon Award for Commercial Architecture - Crown Mahogany Room Expansion – Bates Smart Award - National Centre for Synchrotron Science – Bates Smart Commendation - South Melbourne Market Roof – Paul Morgan Architects Commendation - Spring Street Grocer – KGA Architecture

Jury

Hamish Lyon (Chair) – NH Architecture; Ingrid Bakker - HASSELL; Christie Petsinis – Folk Architects

Interior Architecture

Marion Mahony Award for Interior Architecture - Hamer Hall – ARM Architecture Award - Footscray Nicholson Learning Commons – Cox Architecture Award - Move-In – Elenberg Fraser Architects Commendation - Captain Melville – Breathe Architecture Commendation - National Centre for Synchrotron Science – Bates Smart

Jury

Fiona Winzar (Chair) – Fiona Winzar Architects; Tony Battersby – SJB Architects; Reno Rizzo - Inarc Architects

Heritage Architecture

John George Knight Award for Heritage - Hamer Hall – ARM Architecture Award - Good Shepherd Chapel, Abbotsford – Robert Simeoni Architects Award - Maryborough Railway Station Conservation works – RBA Architects + Conservation Consultants Commendation - Ormond College, Main Building Gables – Lovell Chen

Jury

Helen Lardner (Chair) – HLCD Pty Ltd; David Islip – Office of the Victorian Government Architect; George Yiontis – Coy Yiontis Architects

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

Harold Desbrowe-Annear Award for Residential Architecture - Edward Street
House - Sean Godsell Architects
Award - Fairhaven Residence - John Wardle Architects
Award - Merricks Beach House - Kennedy Nolan
Award - Sorrento Blue House - Neeson Murcutt Architects
Commendation - Crofthouse - James Stockwell Architect
Commendation - Merricks House - Robson Rak Architects Pty Ltd

Jury

Bob Sinclair (Chair) – Billard Leece Partnership; Gemma Cooke – Wood/Marsh Pty Ltd Architecture; James Jones – Architectus





Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations & Additions)

Award - HOUSE House – Andrew Maynard Architects Award - The Mullet – March Studio Commendation - Ferrars Place – antarctica Commendation - shelter shed – multiplicity Commendation - Victoria Road House – Fiona Winzar Architects

Jury

Dr Paul Minifie (Chair) – Minifie van Schaik Architects; Simon Thornton – Simon and Freda Thornton; Sheree Proposch – Bates Smart

Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing

Best Overend Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing - McIntyre Drive Social Housing, Altona – MGS Architects Award - Serrata Docklands – Hayball Pty Ltd Commendation - Aerial Apartments – Wood/Marsh Pty Ltd Architecture Commendation - Leopold – SJB Architects & Fender Katsalidis Architects Commendation - Malvern Hill – SJB Architects

Jury

James Legge (Chair) – Six Degrees Architects; Maria Danos – McAllister Alcock Architects; Richard Middleton – Richard Middleton Architects

Small Project Architecture

Kevin Borland Award for Small Project Architecture - Seventh Heaven – Nest Architects
Award - Abbotsford Convent Breezeway – Jackson Clements Burrows
Award - Third Wave Kiosk – Tony Hobba Architects
Commendation - Move-In – Elenberg Fraser Architects
Commendation - Penny Wise – Marc Dixon Architect
Commendation - The Purple Rose of Cairo – Architecture Architecture

Jury

Jeremy McLeod (Chair) – Breathe Architecture; Sophie Dyring – Gunn Dyring Architecture + Urban Design; Neil Masterton – ARM Architecture

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture - RMIT Design Hub – Sean Godsell Architects in association with Peddle Thorp Architects **Commendation -** shelter shed – multiplicity

Jury

Jacqui Wagner (Chair) – Atelier Wagner; Jose Alfano – Jose Alfano Architect; Anthony Di Mase – Di Mase Architects; George Plionis – BlueScope Steel





Sustainable Architecture

Allan and Beth Coldicutt Award for Sustainable Architecture - Crofthouse – James Stockwell Architect

Jury

Dennis Carter (Chair) – Dennis Carter Architect; Juliet Moore – Edwards Moore; Chris Barnett – Third Skin Sustainability

Melbourne Prize

Winner - Revitalising Central Dandenong: Lonsdale Street Redevelopment – BKK/TCL Partnership

Jury

Tim Shannon (Chair) – Tim Shannon P/L; Ann Lau – Hayball; Alan Pert – Melbourne School of Design

Regional Prize

Winner - Marysville 16 Hour Police Station - Kerstin Thompson Architects

Jury

Amy Muir (Chair) – Muir Mendes; Brendan Jones – antarctica; Michael Bouteloup – Paul Morgan Architects; Albert Mo – Architects EAT

Bates Smart Award for Architecture in the Media

Award – Dream Build – ABC TV (National)

Award – Future Practice: Conversations from the Edge of Architecture – Rory Hyde (National)

Award – Parlour: women, architecture, equity – Justine Clark (State) **Commendation** – Cities of Hope: Remembered/Rehearsed – Conrad Hamann **Commendation** – Designer Suburbs: Architects and Affordable Homes in Australia – Judith O'Callaghan and Charles Pickett

NOTES TO EDITOR:

High resolution images and jury citations are available for download at ...

Images are provided only for use in articles relating to the National Architecture Awards program run by the Australian Institute of Architects. Use in any other context is strictly prohibited without written permission from the submitting architect. All images must credit the architect and photographer.

For media enquiries contact:

Alexandra Cato National Media and Communications Officer Australian Institute of Architects P. + 61 (3) 8620 3813 | M. +61 (0) 416 022 818 <u>alexandra.cato@architecture.com.au</u>





The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing more than 11,000 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design.

Learn more about the Institute, log on to www.architecture.com.au