2011 Victorian Architecture Awards Winners

2011 Victorian Architecture Awards Winners

Victorian Architecture Medal |Melbourne Prize | William Wardell Award Public Architecture
ColorBond Award for Steel Architecture

Bates Smart Award for Architecture in the Media
State Award – Ivan Rijavec (pictured) & John Gollings – NOW + WHEN
National Award – Justine Clarke – Architecture Australia
National Award – Peter Maddison – Grand Designs

Joseph Reed Award for Urban Design
John Wardle Architects – 500 Bourke Street Podium Redevelopment


Architecture Award – ColorBond
Elenberg Fraser – A’Beckett Tower

Sir Osborn McCutcheon Award for Commercial Architecture 
NH Architecture – Myer Bourke Street Redevelopment


Architecture Awards – Commercial Architecture
Bates Smart – Crown Metropol (with jury chair Paul Katsieris)
John Wardle Architects – 500 Bourke Street Redevelopment



Architecture Award – Heritage
Atelier Wagner – East Melbourne House


Marion Mahony Award – Interior Architecture
Kerstin Thompson Architects – Monash Uni Museum of Art
with jury chair Fiona Dunin




Architecture Awards – Interior Architecture
Six Degrees – Newmarket Hotel  
1:1 Architects – The Waiting Room

Award for Small Project Architecture
Breathe Architecture – River Studios


Architecture Award – Small Project Architecture
antarctica + monash architecture studio – Habitat 21 adaptable housing


Regional Prize
Adam Dettrick – The Heights Community Building, Traralgon
bamford dash – Marysville Rebuilding Advisory Centre
Gray Puksand – La Trobe University, Shepparton

Award for Sustainable Architecture
studio 505 – Pixel
with Kingspan sponsor Steve Huxham and jury chair Peter Malatt

Architecture Award – Sustainable
Wolveridge Architects – Hill Plains House

Architecture Award – Public Alts & Adds 
Bellemo + Cat – New Administration Wing, St Josephs Primary
Woods Bagot – Building I Lecture Theatre, Deakin Uni Burwood

Architecture Award – Public Alts & Adds 
Kerstin Thompson Architects –  Monash University Museum of Art (MUMA)
Six Degrees – Library, Deakin University Waurn Ponds

Architecture Award – Public New
H2o – Swinburne University Advanced Technologies Centre
Kerstin Thompson Architects – Carrum Downs 24hr Police Station
John Wardle Architects – Victoria University Learning Commons & Exercise Sports Science Project

Best Overend Award – Residential Multiple
Elenberg Fraser – A’Beckett Tower with Loftus Overend and jury chair Vanessa Bird


 Architecture Award – Residential Multiple
Hayball – John Street, Box Hill

Harold Desbrowe-Annear Award – Residential Houses
NMBW Architecture Studio – Sorrento House



Architecture Award – Residential Houses New
Sally Draper – Westernport House  
Muir Mendes – Law Street House
BKK – Beached House



Architecture Award – Residential Alts + Adds
nest architects – Boston Villa
Harrison + White – Foyn-Johanson House
Denton Corker Marshall – Zinc House (formerly Gallery House)

Enduring Architecture Award
One Collins Street 1983-83 by architects in association Robert Peck and Denton Corker Marshall
Pictured above are Denton Corker Marshall with chair of juries James Staughton