From the Qld Chapter President


Dear Friends and Colleagues,


I would like to take this opportunity to offer a hearty congratulations to all the Queensland architects who were successful at the National Architecture Awards held in Sydney on Thursday 3 November.


I would also like to thank Stuart Vokes (Vokes and Peters) once again for his contribution as National Awards Juror for 2016.



Cox Rayner Architects with Hames Sharley & Conrad Gargett,
University of Queensland Oral Health Centre
The Daryl Jackson Award for Educational Architecture
Interior Architecture Award
Sustainable Architecture Award
Image: Christopher Frederick Jones


PHAB Architects,
The Condensery – Somerset Regional Art Gallery
Public Architecture Award
Image: Manson Images



Owen Architecture
Rosalie House
Residential Architecture Houses (New) Award
Image: Toby Scott



Stephen de Jersey Architect, 
Bath House
Small Project Architecture Award
Image: Scott Burrows



Kevin O’Brien Architects,
Cape York Partnership Offices
Commercial Architecture Commendation
Image: Toby Scott


Loucas Zahos Architects
Ormuz Specialist Eye Clinic
Commercial Architecture Commendation
Image: Christopher Frederick Jones


Owen Architecture
Bayside Fire Station
Heritage Commendation
Image: Toby Scott


phorm architecture + design with Tato Architects,
House in Hamilton
Residential Architecture Houses (New) Commendation
Image: Christopher Frederick Jones


Project Zero
Sustainable Architecture Commendation
Image: Christopher Frederick Jones



On an advocacy note the “10 Reasons to talk to an architect” brochure, developed by your peers on the Architects Advocacy Task Group; Lindy Atkin, Greg Ewart, Roger Mainwood and Phil Smith has now been distributed to regional architects. The brochure is also available digitally online via this link.


As practicing architects we are sometimes asked why it is of benefit to engage an architect over other built environment professions. The following text in italics has been developed by the Task Group and may assist members in answering these kind of questions.


“Architects design spaces their clients didn’t know were possible. Architects are trained to think about design and are supreme problem solvers. Architects envisage and design what isn’t obvious, to create a project that is more than simply the sum of its parts. Architects are the most highly skilled, trained and qualified designers you can work with to realise the vision of your project.”


Best wishes

bruce wolfe personal

Bruce Wolfe FRAIA

Qld Chapter President