Announcing the People of the 2015 Student Architecture Congress

Announcing the People of the 2015 Student Architecture Congress

The creative team behind the Australasian Student Architecture Congress has revealed the speaker line-up for this anticipated event. Themed People, the congress, held in Melbourne from 2 to 4 July, features leading international and Australian practitioners, thinkers and designers.

From high profile architects to designers to a member of the creative team for New Zealand’s first ever pavilion at the Venice Architecture Biennale, from the winner of the Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland’s Best Emerging Practice 2012 to the adviser on architecture and design at the Estonian Ministry of Culture, the speakers represent the breadth of the people that make up the profession of architecture.

People, curated by Mercedes Mambort (RMIT), Tim Randall (Monash University) and Darcy Zelenko (The University of Melbourne), works to the philosophy that ‘architecture in not about form but formations of people,’ Markus Jung.

Amid a backdrop of expanding populations, urban migration and tightening purse strings, the creative directors have designed a program that seeks to investigate questions of spatial relations, architectural anthropology, humanitarian architecture, advocacy and intervention.


Julie Stout – Mitchell & Stout Architects, New Zealand
Steve Larkin – Steve Larkin Architects, Ireland
Anna Rubbo – Centre for Sustainable Urban Development, Columbia University, USA
Laurent Gutierrez – Map Office, Hong Kong
Sandra Manninger – SPAN del Campo Manninger Architects, USA
Veronika Valk – ZiZi & YoYo, Estonia
Phil Harris – Troppo, Adelaide
Adrian Welke – Troppo, Perth
Jeremy McLeod – Breathe Architecture, Melbourne
Lucy Humphrey – Lucy Humphrey Studio and Archrival, Sydney
Tone Wheeler – Environa Studio, Sydney
Paul Pholeros – Healthabitat, Sydney
John Gollings – Gollings Photography, Melbourne
Paul Memmott – Aboriginal Environments Research Centre, Brisbane
Lucinda Hartley – CoDesign Studio, Victoria

Discounted early bird registrations close Thursday 30 April.

More information available at