Architecture’s leaders honoured with national prizes

Architecture’s leaders honoured with national prizes

6 May 2017

The profound contribution of Australia’s foremost architects and architectural students has been honoured with the awarding of prestigious national prizes from the Australian Institute of Architects at the National Architecture Conference at Sydney’s International Convention Centre today.

The highest honour, the Australian Institute of Architects’ Gold Medal, was awarded to Peter Elliott AM recognising ‘his exceptional contribution through design, through architectural education, through leadership within the profession and through promotion of architecture within the community.’ (Full details here).

Bond University’s Professor Michael Keniger was awarded the National President’s prize by Ken Maher for dedicating his life to ‘nurturing, guiding and inspiring coming generations of architects’ and helping them fulfil the potential of the profession to improve ‘quality of life for all citizens.’

The BlueScope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize was awarded unanimously to James Hargrave of the University of New South Wales for his project proposing urban housing for families, professional couples and the elderly on the southern edge of the Balmain peninsula. The jury lauded the project for demonstrating ‘that urban density can be achieved in a way that is responsive to the urban fabric of inner Sydney, at an appropriate scale and with a landscape that engages with our wonderful harbour.’

Timothy Randall from Monash University was the recipient of the Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture with the jury praising his ‘outstanding leadership, engagement and advocacy skills’ and commending his ‘ongoing energy and commitment across the areas of leadership, advocacy and engagement for now and the future.’

The co-founder of what has become the highly successful EmAGN (Emerging Architects and Graduates Network), Anthony Balsamo of Walter Brooke and Associates, has been awarded the National Emerging Architect Prize ‘in recognition of his significant contribution to the profession through design excellence, education and industry leadership.’

The inaugural Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize winner, announced earlier in the year, Catherine Baudet, was also celebrated for her ‘outstanding leadership supporting
women in the profession of architecture for more than thirty years.’

Five talented emerging architects – Claire Scorpo Imogene Tudor, Alberto Quizo, Morgan Jenkins and Louisa Gee – announced earlier in the year, were chosen from a competitive field of 117 entrants to participate in the tenth annual Dulux Study Tour which will include visits to Barcelona, London and Prague this month.

Full list of winners:

Gold Medal
Peter Elliott AM – Peter Elliott Architecture and Urban Design (VIC)

National President’s Prize
Professor Michael Keniger – Bond University (QLD)

Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize
Catherine Baudet – Ferrier Baudet Architects (QLD)

National Emerging Architect Prize
Anthony Balsamo – Walter Brooke and Associates (SA)

BlueScope Steel Glenn Murcutt Student Prize
James Hargrave – University of NSW (NSW)

Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture
Timothy Randall – Monash University (VIC)

Dulux Study Tour
Claire Scorpo – Claire Scorpo Architects (VIC)
Imogene Tudor – Sam Crawford Architects (NSW)
Alberto Quizon – CHROFI (NSW)
Morgan Jenkins – Morgan Jenkins Architecture (QLD)
Louisa Gee – Partners Hill (QLD)