Entries revealed in Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards

Entries revealed in Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards

Eighteen entries are in the running for honours in the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2013 Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards with winners to be announced on Friday 22 March.

The projects include a car dealership, playground and a variety of houses among others entered in commercial, public, residential – houses, residential – multiple housing and small project architecture.

Sunshine Coast Regional Jury Coordinator Andrew Cooksley, Principal at ACArch, and Jurors Jo Case, Principal at Jo Case Architect and Amelia Loftus, Principal at Loftus Studio, along with Lay Juror Stefan Prystupa, Engineer at TOD Consulting Engineers, will assist the 2013 Awards Jury Director, Mark Damant (Woods Bagot), Deputy Director, Liam Proberts (bureau^proberts), and State Juror Paul Curran (PUSH) with selecting the worthy recipients of Regional Commendations, the Gabriel Poole Award for Building of the Year and the Sunshine Coast House of the Year.

Projects awarded on the night will progress to the coveted Queensland Architecture Awards to be announced in Brisbane on 21 June.

Queensland 2013 Awards Jury Director, Mark Damant will present the Regional Commendations to Sunshine Coast winners at a special Awards ceremony at the Mooloolaba Surf Club, commencing at 6:00pm Friday 22 March. Media are invited to attend.

Projects in the running are:

Architectural Project Architectural Practice Architectural Category Location
Sunshine Coast Mazda Gray Puksand Commercial Architecture Maroochydore
Cooroy Library Brewster Hjorth Architects Public Architecture Cooroy
Girraween Clubhouse Mode Design Public Architecture Noosa
Rainbow Beach Community Hall and Library Brenton Rasheed Architects & Walter Dobkins Architect Public Architecture Rainbow Beach
Calanthe Tim Ditchfield Architects Residential Architecture – Houses Doonan
House Read Walter Dobkins Architect FRAIA Residential Architecture – Houses Rainbow Beach
little cove house Teeland Architects Residential Architecture – Houses Noosa Heads
Mountain View Road Tim Stewart Architects Residential Architecture – Houses Maleny
Noosa House Clements Clarke Architects Residential Architecture – Houses Noosa Heads
Obi Obi House WD Architects Residential Architecture – Houses Obi Obi
Peregian Beach Residence Sparks Architects Residential Architecture – Houses Peregian Beach
Shlegeris Residence WD Architects Residential Architecture – Houses Noosaville
Whitepatch Residence Bribie Island John Marsson & Associates Residential Architecture – Houses Bribie Island
Yaroomba House Majstorovic Architecture Residential Architecture – Houses Yaroomba
Currimundi Apartments Macksey Rush Architects Pty Ltd Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing Currimundi
Island Waters Sprout Architects Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing Birtinya Island
Elysium Playground and Park Shelters Cox Rayner Architects Small Project Architecture Noosa Heads
Elysium Rec Club Biscoe Wilson Architects Small Project Architecture Noosa Heads



For media enquiries and high resolution images contact:

Alexandra Cato
National Media and Communications Officer
Australian Institute of Architects
P. + 61 (3) 8620 3813 | M. +61 (0) 416 022 818

The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing 11,500 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design. Learn more about the Institute, log on to www.architecture.com.au.