Illustrious jury and iconic venue selected for the 2013 National Architecture Awards

Illustrious jury and iconic venue selected for the 2013 National Architecture Awards

Australian Institute of Architects National President Shelley Penn has announced the esteemed jury for the 2013 National Architecture Awards.

WOHA Founder and Director, Richard Hassell; South Australian Government Architect, Ben Hewett; Emerging Architect, Hannah Tribe; and architectural editor, writer and critic, Justine Clark will join Jury Chair Shelley Penn in selecting the winners for the 2013 Awards which will be announced on Thursday 7 November at the Sydney Opera House.

Celebrating 40 years since its completion, the iconic Sydney venue designed by Jørn Utzon, is an ideal choice to host the National Architecture Awards which celebrate excellence in contemporary Australian Architecture.

‘We’re delighted to be holding the 2013 National Awards at the Sydney Opera House.

‘It’s a chance to recognise the enormous value of design quality and its contribution to Australian society, through both the award winners and the wonderful setting,’ said Shelley Penn.

Reflecting on the 2013 jury Shelley Penn noted:

‘Justine Clark, as former editor of Architecture Australia, has great experience in critical review and an in depth understanding of the breadth of work being done around the country.

‘Ben Hewett is the South Australian Government Architect and has been a practicing architect and teacher in Sydney. He has a wonderful, generous approach and passion for architecture, along with experience spanning delivery of public, commercial and residential projects.

‘Director of internationally acclaimed practice, WOHA, Richard Hassell is a fabulous Australian architect practicing in Singapore, creating very innovative and highly awarded designs.

‘Emerging architect Hannah Tribe has already created a highly regarded practice in NSW since its inception in 2003 with strong commitment to design excellence. Tribe Studio’s House Kalafatas Challita received an Architecture Award at the 2012 NSW Architecture Awards for Small Project Architecture.’

Celebrating excellence in architecture, the National Architecture Awards are the most prestigious awards in the design and construction industry, influencing architects, clients and aspiring designers alike.


For media enquiries contact:

Alexandra Cato
National Media and Communications Officer
Australian Institute of Architects
P. +61 (0)3 8620 3813 | M. +61 (0)416 022 818

The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing 11,500 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design. Learn more about the Institute, log on to