NT Awards Announced

NT Awards Announced

Northern Territory Architecture Awards Announced in the Top End

The Northern Territory Architectural Awards was held in the Amphitheatre at the NT Museum and Art Gallery.  The evening highlighted the best that the Territory has to offer in terms of architecture, food and beverage, entertainment and of course the wonderful dry season weather.  Whilst the number of entries was down in 2018, the Awards provided an interesting cross-section of work and a significant variation in scale.

The ASTC (The Alice Springs Town Council) Garden Cemetery Chapel by Susan Dugdale & Associates was the most awarded project of night with the Jury stating “The architects have taken the brief to a level of excellence by providing the community of Alice Springs with a place for gathering, grieving and celebrating the lives of friends and family”.  The space is open to all religions and ceremonies and is non-denominational.

The project received the chapter’s most prestigious honour, the Tracy Memorial Award, along with  The Reverend John Flynn Award for Public Architecture and People’s Choice Award.

The Buchan Group took home The Peter Dermoudy Award for Commercial Architecture for Zuccoli Plaza.  The Jury applauds both the developer for encouraging such a fresh approach to a local shopping centre, and the architects for their responsiveness to community context, connections and experience.

The Yali McNamara Award for Small Project Architecture went to Hodgkinson for the Charles Darwin University – ACIKE Ceremonial Space.  The space combined an entry through an existing award winning building by DKJ with an indoor dance stage and an established ceremonial courtyard.

Another regional project was awarded the COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture – Kilgariff Entry and Fence by Susan Dugdale & Associates.   The graphics portrays an abstract representation of the locally prolific bush passionfruit. In executing the design, the architects have advanced a form of applied cladding that has been laser cut to define the various shapes.

The Dulux Enduring Architecture Award was presented to Troppo Architects for the Bowali Visitor Centre.  This centre was built in 1992 in Kakadu National Park and whilst park staff have come and gone, Bowali has created and maintained enduring relationships with traditional owners in their ongoing endeavours to live and work in Country.  A worthy recipient of the Dulux Award.

Named and Award winners will now progress to the National Architecture Awards to be announced in Melbourne in November 2018.


Full list of winners:

Public Architecture

The Reverend John Flynn Award – ASTC Garden Cemetery Chapel – Susan Dugdale & Associates 

Commercial Architecture

The Peter Dermoudy Award Zuccoli Plaza, The Buchan Group

Small Project Architecture

The Yali McNamara Award –  Charles Darwin University, ACIKE Ceremonial Space – Hodgkison

 Enduring Architecture

Award Bowali Visitors Centre, Kakadu – Troppo Architects

 COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

Award Kilgariff Entry and Fence – Susan Dugdale & Associates

 Chapter Prizes

The Tracy Memorial Award – ASTC Garden Cemetery Chapel – Susan Dugdale & Associates

President’s Prize – Sally Thomas, AC

Student Award – Katherine Mackay

People’s Choice Award – ASTC Garden Cemetery Chapel, Susan Dugdale & Associates

Life Membership – Steven Huntingford, Jackman Gooden Architects Pty Ltd LFRAIA