Projects compete in Brisbane Regional Architecture Awards

Projects compete in Brisbane Regional Architecture Awards

95 entries have been received for the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2013 Brisbane Regional Architecture Awards with winners to be announced on Friday 10 May.

Cox Rayner’s One One One Eagle Street and the Queen Elizabeth II Courts of Law by Architectus in association with Guymer Bailey Architects are among projects entered in urban design, commercial, heritage, interior, public, residential – houses, residential – multiple housing, small project architecture and Art & Architecture categories.

The Brisbane regional juries assisted the 2013 Queensland Awards Jury Director, Mark Damant (Woods Bagot); Deputy Director, Liam Proberts (bureau^proberts); State Juror, Eloise Atkinson (Deicke Richards Architects); State Juror, Paul Curran (PUSH Architects) and Brisbane Regional Jury Coordinator, Sarah Rush (Macksey Rush Architects) with selecting the worthy recipients of Regional Commendations, the John Dalton Award for Building of the Year and the House of the Year.

Projects awarded on the night will progress to the Queensland Architecture Awards to be announced in Brisbane on 21 June.

2013 Brisbane Regional Jury

Brisbane Regional Jury Coordinator – Sarah Rush (Macksey Rush Architects)

Jury Chair – Alice Hampson (Alice LTM Hampson Architect)
Jurors – Grace Liu (Queensland Art Gallery) and Geoffrey Pie (Geoffrey Pie Architect)

Jury Chair – Justin O’Neill (O’Neill Architecture)
Jurors – Geoff Street (Suters Architects) and John Thong (Wilson Architects)

Jury Chair – Ivan McDonald (Ivan McDonald Architects)
Juror – Vito Villari (Project Services)

Jury Chair – Kon Panagopolous (KP Architects)
Jurors – Fred Iezzi (idearchitecture), Russell Peters (Reddog Architects), James Russell (James Russell Architect) and Margaret West

Jury Chair – Stephen Cameron (Stephen Cameron Architecture)
Jurors – Philip Horwood (Studio 39) and Glen Mallett (Nettleton Tribe Partnership)

Jury Chair – John Mainwaring (JMA Architects)
Jurors – Kieron Gait (Keiron Gait Architect) and Angus Munro (Marc&Co)

Jury Chair – Brian Steendyk (Steendyk)
Jurors – Elizabeth Anderson (Hayes Anderson Lynch Architects), Andrew Gutteridge (Arkhefield), Mick Hellen (aardvarc), Paul Holston (Phorm Architecture + Design), Shaye McLean (SM Architecture) and Henk Mulder (Mulder + Kennedy Architects)
Lay Jurors – Margie Fraser (Vogue Design) and Francene Ridley (freelance journalist)

Jury Chair – Bud Brannigan (Bud Brannigan Architects)
Jurors – Paul Butterworth (Paul Butterworth Architect), Jason Haigh (Cloud Dwellers), Shy Tay (Arkhefield), Margaret Ward (Margaret Ward Architect) and Marion Wilson (Biscoe Wilson Architects)

Jury Chair – John Deicke (Deicke Richards Architects)
Jurors – John Clarke (Parish Clarke Architects) and Peter Edwards (Archipelago)

Queensland 2013 Awards Jury Director, Mark Damant and Regional Jury Coordinator, Sarah Rush will present the Regional Commendations to Brisbane winners at a special Awards ceremony at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, commencing at 7pm Friday 10 May.


For media enquiries and high resolution images contact:

Alexandra Cato
National Media and Communications Officer
Australian Institute of Architects
P. + 61 (3) 8620 3813 | M. +61 (0) 416 022 818

The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing 11,500 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design. Learn more about the Institute, log on to