Projects vie for honours in Newcastle Architecture Awards

Projects vie for honours in Newcastle Architecture Awards

Twenty-three local projects will vie for architecture honours in the 2013 Australian Institute of Architects’ Newcastle Architecture Awards to be announced on Friday 8 March at the Newcastle Museum.

The entries spanning commercial, public, residential –houses, residential –multiple housing, and small project architecture will be judged by a respected jury of local and state architects and academics.

Led by Jury Chair and Practice Principle at McKendry-Hunt Architects, Debra McKendry, the jury includes; Ramsey Awad, Senior Lecturer at the School of Architecture and Built Environment at the University of Newcastle; Robert Donaldson, Trustee of The Architecture Foundation; Emili Fox, Director of Fox Johnston in Sydney; and Peter Johnson, former Director of EJE Architecture (retired).

Winners from the night will have the opportunity to present their projects to the NSW Architecture Awards’ juries for consideration of state honours.

Entries in the 2013 Newcastle Architecture Awards include a surfhouse, a motorcycle showroom, primary schools, a medical centre and a community centre among others. View all Newcastle entries here.

The Newcastle Architecture Awards are proudly sponsored by Architectural Window Systems Pty Ltd, Austral Bricks, and Marline Newcastle Consulting Engineers and supported by Terras Landscape Architects.

For more information and ticket sales visit


For media enquiries contact:

Kate Griffith
Australian Institute of Architects Country Division
P. + 61 (2) 4960 4200

Alexandra Cato
National Media and Communications Officer
Australian Institute of Architects
P. + 61 (3) 8620 3813 | M. +61 (0) 416 022 818

The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing 11,500 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design. Learn more about the Institute, log on to