Queen’s Birthday Honours recognise contribution to architecture

Queen’s Birthday Honours recognise contribution to architecture

The Australian Institute of Architects congratulates Life Fellow of the Institute and Past President Mr Howard Tanner, Fellow Mr James Maccormick and member Mr David Beaumont on their receipt of Queen’s Birthday Honours.

Howard Tanner (NSW) was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to architecture and to heritage conservation. Mr Tanner has been a member of the Institute since 1974 when he established Tanner Architects (now Tanner Kibble Denton). In addition to his tenure as National President from 2008 to 2009, Mr Tanner has held numerous Institute positions both locally and nationally including National Councillor, Member of the National Education Committee, Chair of the 2009 National Awards Jury and Chair of the 2011 NSW Architecture Awards Jury.

Mr Tanner was a founding member of the Venice Biennale Committee in 2006 and Vice-President of the NSW Chapter from 1991 to 1993. He was a senior lecturer in architecture at the University of Sydney between 1975 and 1985 and in collaboration with Professor Jennifer Taylor, established the university’s architectural conservation courses.

Sydney Town Hall, Admiralty House Kirribilli and Icebergs Dining Room and Bar Bondi Beach are among Mr Tanner’s most notable public works.

James Maccormick MBE (QLD) has been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to architecture. A member of the Institute since 1952, Mr Maccormick was Principal Architect at Commonwealth Department of Works from 1963 to 1969.

Mr Maccormick was Designer of the Australian Pavilions at the 1967 Montreal, 1970 Osaka and 1974 Spokane, USA Expos before instigating the Brisbane World Expo 88. Director of Bligh Maccormick, master planners and architects for the Brisbane World Expo 88 between 1984 and 1988, he then established James Maccormick and Associates where he was Principal until his retirement in 2011.

Following his contribution to Expo 67 in Montreal, Mr Maccormick was appointed as a Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire.

David Beaumont (SA) also received the Medal of the Order of Australia for service to the community, particularly through heritage organisations. A Board Member of the Australian Council of National Trusts, Mr Beaumont is a former State President of the National Trust of South Australia and a Life Fellow of the Trust since 1971.

In addition to his work with the National Trust, Mr Beaumont is a current member of DOCOMOMO Australia, an international organisation for the documentation and preservation of the buildings, sites and neighbourhoods of the Modern Movement in architecture.


For media enquiries contact:

Alexandra Cato

National Media and Communications Officer

Australian Institute of Architects

P. + 61 (3) 8620 3813  |  M. +61 (0) 416 022 818




The Australian Institute of Architects is the peak body for the architectural profession, representing 11,500 members across Australia and overseas. The Institute actively works to improve the quality of our built environment by promoting quality, responsible and sustainable design. Learn more about the Institute, log on to www.architecture.com.au.