Winners announced in Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards

Winners announced in Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards

Eleven outstanding local projects have been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2014 Sunshine Coast Regional Architecture Awards, held tonight at Outrigger Little Hastings Street Resort and Spa, Noosa.

Twenty-two projects were entered in the Awards with 11 projects (see list below) being awarded Regional Commendations by the jury and progressing to the Queensland Architecture Awards to be announced in Brisbane on 20 June.

In addition to a Regional Commendation, The Beach Box by OGE Group Architects was presented with the Gabriel Poole Award for House of the Year.

‘The utilisation of ‘once used’ shipping containers provides a robust and cost effective opportunity to re-engage with the beach culture and mixed use zoning of Buddina. The grouping provides separate private zones with pop outs for greater internal widths, linking with decks and courtyards and a simple skillion roof over entry referencing modest beach house vernacular. This playful use of containers, engages simple yet appropriate interiors and integration with the landscape. However, its power lies in the way it engages with the street and greater public domain through blurred internal/external and public/private boundaries, street furniture and through its honest and engaging presentation,’ the jury said.

The Post World War 2 Development on the Coast and the Moffat Beach Pilot Study, coordinated by Roger Todd Architect was awarded Regional Project of the Year.

‘It is hoped this unique study and website will alert council, architects, building designers, town planners and the general public to the long term advantages in better conservation of post-World War 2 heritage. It provides inspiration for new works and adaptive reuse and a platform to continue recording built history and heritage,’ the jury said.

A special Enduring Architecture Prize was awarded to Syrenuse, Mooloolaba by Noel Robinson Architects.

‘Syrenuse apartments by Noel Robinson Architects was built in 1981. Its innovative slab and 6 x 6 grid meant the slender structure could provide fire protection while allowing full height glazing and connection to its view and aspect. Its organic form marked Mooloobah as a contemporary destination at the time and it remains a benchmark for mid-high rise development,’ the jury commented.

Regional Commendations:

Architectural Project Architectural Practice Location
Growth Bark Design Architects Sunshine Coast
Whyatt House Robinson Architects Eumundi
Additions & Alterations to 78 Nothling Street Tim Bennetton Architects Moffat Beach
St Patrick’s Primary School Trinity Building + Amenities Fulton Trotter Architects Gympie
Panorama Drive Owen and Vokes and Peters Doonan
Bower @ Bells Reach JMA Architects Qld Caloundra West
Seahaven Resort – Noosa Heads dm2architecture pty ltd Noosa Heads


Coolum Tce. House Majstorovic Architecture Coolum Beach
The Beach Box OGE Group Architects Buddina


Coolum Beach Public Shelters Majstorovic Architecture Coolum Beach
Post WW2 Development on

the Coast & the Moffat Beach

Pilot Study

Coordinated by Roger

Todd Architect

Moffat Beach


Sunshine Coast Regional Jury Coordinator and Juror Michelle Wright and Jurors: Gabriel Poole (Gabriel & Elizabeth Poole Design Company), Dan Sparks (Sparks Architects), Tim Ditchfield (Tim Ditchfield Architects), Leon Grazien (Terra Leoria Architects) and Frank Raadschelders (Frank Raadschelders Architecture) assisted the 2014 Awards Jury Director, Liam Proberts, (bureau^proberts), Deputy Director Paul Uhlmann (Paul Uhlmann Architects), and State Jurors Catherine Baudet (Ferrier Baudet Architects), Mark Jones (Architectus Brisbane) and Paul Curran (PUSH) selected the worthy recipients of Regional Commendations, the Gabriel Poole Award for House of the Year.