Winners of Darling Downs/West Moreton Regional Architecture Awards announced

Winners of Darling Downs/West Moreton Regional Architecture Awards announced

Four outstanding projects have been honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2014 Darling Downs/West Moreton Regional Architecture Awards, held tonight at Insight Gallery in Toowoomba.

A total of 11 projects including a library, a church, schools, medical and care facilities, and a variety of houses were entered in the Awards with three projects (see list below) being awarded Regional Commendations by the jury and progressing to the Queensland Architecture Awards to be announced in Brisbane on 20 June.

Faith Lutheran College Library by Fulton Trotter Architects took home the William Hodgen Award for Building of the Year.

‘This library addition to the college campus creates a much needed focal point for the school. It lifts the perception of the campus to a higher level. A multi -functional space has been added that connects to the rural landscape and creates a valuable and engaging covered gathering space as well,’ the jury noted.

The Darling Downs/West Moreton House of the Year award went to Thorn by aardvark.

The jury describes the winner as ‘[an] engaging design for a contemporary family home. The use of a creative palette of natural materials, quality finishes and subtle colours has created successful and welcoming interior spaces. Natural heating and cooling has been achieved through the thoughtful placement of thermal mass and cross ventilation breeze ways.’

A special Enduring Architecture Prize was presented to St Alban’s Church by Lund Hutton Newell Black & Paulson. ‘This is a remarkable building and stands the test of time with its materials and form and clearly demonstrates the power of Architecture,’ the jury said.

Darling Downs/West Moreton Jury Coordinator and Juror, Gavan Reilly (Gavan Reilly Architect), and Jurors Greg Kratzmann (Greg Kratzmann Architects) and Kerry Martin (Aspect Architects and Project Managers) assisted the 2014 State Awards Jury Director, Liam Proberts, (bureau^proberts), Deputy Director, Paul Uhlmann (Paul Uhlmann Architects), and State Jurors Catherine Baudet (Ferrier Baudet Architects), Mark Jones (Architectus Brisbane) and Paul Curran (PUSH) with selecting the worthy recipients of the Regional Commendations.

Regional Commendations:

Architectural Project Architectural Practice Location
Faith Lutheran College Library Fulton Trotter Architects Plainland
Thorn aardvarc Ipswich
Ipswich Government Office Building Cox Rayner Architects Ipswich