Wednesday 6 June

12 – 4pm Registration Open Gold Coast Convention Centre
6.30 – 10.30pm Opening Party Miami Marketta

Thursday 7 June

7.30am Registration Open
9.00am Welcome
9.25am Keynote 
Moshe Safdie
Safdie Architects, USA
10.35am Morning Tea
11.15am Domestic Session
Mark Stevenson
The University of Melbourne, Victoria
12.00pm Domestic Session 
James Grose
BVN, New South Wales
1.00pm Lunch
2.15pm Domestic Session 
Eli Giannini
MGS Architects, Victoria
3.00pm Keynote
Roberto Bannura
Steven Holl Architects, China
4.00pm Afternoon Tea
4.40pm Keynote
Borja Ferrater
Office of Architecture Barcelona (OAB), Spain
5.40pm Wrap-up of Day One
5.50pm Day One concludes

Friday 8 June

8.00am Registration Open
9.00am Introduction to Day Two
9.15am Domestic Session
Sue Dugdale
Susan Dugdale & Associates, Northern Territory
10.00am Morning Tea
10.40am Keynote
Hiroko Kusunoki and Nicolas Moreau
Moreau Kusunoki Architects, France
11.45am Gold Medal Announcement
12.15pm Lunch
1.30pm Keynote
Sarah Manning
Spaceagency, England
2.35pm Domestic Session
Lindy Atkin
Bark Architects, Queensland
3.15pm Afternoon Tea
3.55pm Keynote
‘Lek’ Mathar Bunnag
Bunnag Architects International Consultants Company, Thailand
5.00pm Conference Wrap-up
5.10pm Conference concludes


Program Themes


1 – Human Scale + Connecting with Context

  • Moshe Safdie
  • Mark Stevenson
  • James Grose


2 – Urban Identity + Growing with Change

  • Eli Giannini
  • Roberto Bannura
  • Borja Ferrater


3 – Cultural Perception + Building on Culture

  • Sue Dugdale
  • Hiroko Kusunoki and Nicolas Moreau


4 – Social Measures + Engaging with Senses

  • Sarah Manning
  • Lindy Atkin
  • Lek Bunnag



The winners of the 2018 National Prizes of the Australian Institute of Architects will be announced throughout the 2018 National Architecture Conference. Prizes include the Gold Medal, National President’s Prize, Paula Whitman Leadership in Gender Equity Prize, Emerging Architect Prize, William J Mitchell International Chapter Prize and the Student Prize for the Advancement of Architecture.

** Program correct at 23 May 2018 and subject to change