Meet the Reps

Meet the Reps

The Student Organised Network for Architecture (SONA) is the official student body of the Australian Institute of Architects. We represent architecture students from across Australia, organising national, state and local events that provide opportunities for students to collaborate with each other as well as architects and associated professionals.

SONA members take part in the annual Australian Institute of Architects architecture conference, the biannual student congress, local mentoring and social events, design competitions, professional committees, and receive and contribute to nationally-recognised architecture publications.

The SONA team  is comprised of an executive committee of 5 student members and 19 student SONA Representatives from accredited universities (or those on the path way to becoming accredited) across Australia. It is this group of dedicated students that volunteers their time and energy to make positive things happen with SONA!

The SONA team would encourage you to get in touch with your university SONA rep to find out more about local happenings!

Your SONA National Committee


Gina Engelhardt

Immediate Past President

Troy Borg

President Elect 

Jacques Chevrant-Breton

Vice President – Competitions & Events

Leanne Haidar 

Vice President – Member Engagement

Amarinda Bazeley


Your SONA State Representatives

Australian Capital Territory

University of Canberra

Courtney Thoo

New South Wales

University of Sydney

Jodie Chieu

University of New South Wales

Celine Ti

University of  Technology Sydney

Jack Thomas Osborn 

Newcastle University

Sahibajot Kaur (outgoing 2019)

Northern Territory

Charles Darwin University

Pio Gillamac


Bond University

Nicole Mesquita-Mendes

Griffith University Gold Coast

Asfand Tarar   

Queensland University of Technology

Richelle Lim

University of Queensland

Kieren Dolores

South Australia

Adelaide University

Geoffrey William Baddams

University of South Australia

James Guy


University of Tasmania

Chris Morrison


University of Melbourne

Saran Kim

Deakin University

Julie Pham

Monash University

Daniel Soetjahjono

RMIT University

Christopher Filippidis

Western Australia

University of Western Australia

Kathryn Neale     

Curtin University

Julian Kissling


National Staff (Melbourne)
Bianca Haas (National Membership Engagement Officer)

 “Photography by Aaron Puls, SJB Architects”