Meet the Reps

Meet the Reps

The Student Organised Network for Architecture (SONA) is the official student body of the Australian Institute of Architects. We represent architecture students from across Australia, organising national, state and local events that provide opportunities for students to collaborate with each other as well as architects and associated professionals.

SONA members take part in the annual Australian Institute of Architects architecture conference, the biannual student congress, local mentoring and social events, design competitions, professional committees, and receive and contribute to nationally-recognised architecture publications.

The SONA team  is comprised of an executive committee of 5 student members and 19 student SONA  Representatives from accredited universities (or those on the path way to becoming accredited) across Australia. It is this group of dedicated students that volunteers their time and energy to make positive things happen with SONA!

The SONA team would encourage you to get in touch with your university SONA rep to find out more about local happenings!

The SONA University Representatives:

President 

Gina Engelhardt
president@sona.com.au

Immediate Past President

Troy Borg
pastpresident@sona.com.au

President Elect 

Jacques Chevrant-Breton
presidentelect@sona.com.au

Vice President – Competitions & Events

Leanne Haider
vpevents@sona.com.au 
vpcompetitions@sona.com.au 

Vice President – Member Engagement

Amarinda Bazeley
vpmembership@sona.com.au

State Representatives

Australian Capital Territory

University of Canberra

Courtney Thoo
uc@sona.com.au

New South Wales

University of Sydney
Jodie Chieu –  usyd@sona.com.au

University of New South Wales
Tonia Yau (outgoing 2019) –unsw@sona.com.au

University of  Sydney Technology
Jack Thomas Osborn– uts@sona.com 

Newcastle University

Sahibajot Kaur (outgoing 2019) – newcastle@sona.com.au

Northern Territory

Charles Darwin University
Pio Gillamac – cdu@sona.com.au

Queensland 

Bond University
Nicole Mesquita-Mendes  – bond@sona.com.au

Griffith University Gold Coast
Asfand Tarar-  griffith@sona.com.au   

Queensland University of Technology
Richelle Lim – qut@sona.com.au

University of Queensland
Kieran Dolores – uq@sona.com.au

South Australia

Adelaide University
Geoffrey William Baddams – adelaide@sona.com.au

University of South Australia
James Guy – unisa@sona.com.au

Tasmania

University of Tasmania
Chris Morrison – utas@sona.com.au

Victoria 

University of Melbourne
Saran Lim – melbournesona@gmail.com

Deakin University

Jacquelyn Mangubat (outgoing 2019)
deakin@sona.com.au

Monash University
Daniel Soetjahjono – monash@sona.com.au

RMIT University
Christopher Filippidis  – rmit@sona.com.au

Western Australia

University of Western Australia
Kathryn Neale – uwa@sona.com.au     
 

Curtin University
Julian Kissling – curtin@sona.com.au

National Staff (Melbourne Victoria)

Bianca Haas (National Membership Engagement Officer)  sona@architecture.com.au