Meet the Reps

Meet the Reps

The Student Organised Network for Architecture (SONA) is the official student body of the Australian Institute of Architects. We represent architecture students from across Australia, organising national, state and local events that provide opportunities for students to collaborate with each other as well as architects and associated professionals.

SONA members take part in the annual Australian Institute of Architects architecture conference, the biannual student congress, local mentoring and social events, design competitions, professional committees, and receive and contribute to nationally-recognised architecture publications.

The SONA team  is comprised of an executive committee of 5 student members and 19 student SONA Representatives from accredited universities (or those on the path way to becoming accredited) across Australia. It is this group of dedicated students that volunteers their time and energy to make positive things happen with SONA!

The SONA team would encourage you to get in touch with your university SONA rep to find out more about local happenings!

 

Your SONA Representatives:

 

President 

Gina Engelhardt
president@sona.com.au

 

Immediate Past President

Troy Borg
pastpresident@sona.com.au

 

President Elect 

Jacques Chevrant-Breton
presidentelect@sona.com.au

 

Vice President – Competitions & Events

Leanne Haidar
vpevents@sona.com.au 
vpcompetitions@sona.com.au 

 

Vice President – Member Engagement

Amarinda Bazeley
vpmembership@sona.com.au

 

State Representatives

Australian Capital Territory

University of Canberra

Courtney Thoo
uc@sona.com.au

 

New South Wales

University of Sydney

Jodie Chieu
usyd@sona.com.au

 

University of New South Wales
Tonia Yau (outgoing 2019)
unsw@sona.com.au

 

University of  Technology Sydney

Jack Thomas Osborn
uts@sona.com 

 

Newcastle University

Sahibajot Kaur (outgoing 2019)
newcastle@sona.com.au

 

Northern Territory

Charles Darwin University
Pio Gillamac
cdu@sona.com.au

 

Queensland 

Bond University

Nicole Mesquita-Mendes 
bond@sona.com.au

 

Griffith University Gold Coast

Asfand Tarar
griffith@sona.com.au   

 

Queensland University of Technology
Richelle Lim
qut@sona.com.au

 

University of Queensland

Kieren Dolores
uq@sona.com.au

 

South Australia

Adelaide University

Geoffrey William Baddams
adelaide@sona.com.au

University of South Australia

James Guy
unisa@sona.com.au

 

Tasmania

University of Tasmania

Chris Morrison
utas@sona.com.au

 

Victoria 

University of Melbourne
Saran Kim
melbourne@sona.com.au

Deakin University
Julie Pham
deakin@sona.com.au

Monash University

Daniel Soetjahjono
monash@sona.com.au

RMIT University

Christopher Filippidis
 rmit@sona.com.au

 

Western Australia

University of Western Australia

Kathryn Neale
uwa@sona.com.au     
 

Curtin University

Julian Kissling
curtin@sona.com.au

 

National Staff (Melbourne)
Bianca Haas (National Membership Engagement Officer)  sona@architecture.com.au

 “Photography by Aaron Puls, SJB Architects”