2017 NSW Country Division Architecture Award Winners

The 2017 Country Division Architecture Awards were announced on Thursday 5 October in Coffs Harbour as part of the NSW Country Division Conference, with fifteen projects recognised across ten categories. 

Exploring innovative new modes of practice, The Joint by Joint Modular in Thirroul took home both the prestigious James Barnet Award and an award for Residential Architecture – Affordable Housing (under $350,000), for a project the jury felt was ‘exceptional on account of its ambition, method of delivery, social ethos and high level of design resolution.’ Two houses at opposite ends of the NSW coastline tied as joint winners of the Residential Architecture – Houses (New) category, with awards going to Byron Bay home Carlyle Lane by Harley Graham Architects and Escarpment House by Takt in Thirroul on the South Coast. This year’s People’s Choice Award gathered over 1400 member and public votes, with the most votes going to Lue Road Residence by Cameron Anderson Architects. Please see below for a full list of all this year’s winning projects. 




Left to right: Hidden Studio by Harley Graham Architects (Image: Andy McPherson); Escarpment House by Takt (Image: Shantanu Starick); Courtyard House by Davis Architects (Image: Anne-Louise Buck); Ballina Marine Rescue by DFJ Architects (Image: Christopher Frederick Jones); Sampson House by Source Architects (Image: Tom Ferguson) 

Full list of winning projects:

James Barnet Award
Winner – The Joint, Thirroul by Joint Modular

People’s Choice Award
Winner – Lue Road Residence, Mudgee, by Cameron Anderson Architects

Winner – Sampson House, Orange by Source Architects

Commendation – Bangalow Farmhouse, Bangalow by DFJ Architects

Public and Commercial Architecture
Winner – Ballina Sea Rescue Tower, Ballina by DFJ Architects

Commendation – iAccelerate Centre, North Wollongong by ADM Architects
Commendation – Ocean Shores Soccer Club, Ocean Shores by DFJ Architects

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations & Additions)
Winner – Courtyard House, Lilyfield, by Davis Architects

Commendation – Sampson House, Orange by Source Architects

Residential Architecture – Affordable Housing (under $350,000)
Winner – The Joint, Thirroul by Joint Modular

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)
Winner (tied) – Carlyle Lane, Byron Bay by Harley Graham Architects

Winner (tied) – Escarpment House, Thirroul by Takt

Small Projects
Winner (tied) – Possum Shoot Shed, Possum Shoot by DFJ Architects

Winner (tied) – Hidden Studio, Coopers Shoot by Harley Graham Architects
Commendation – Green West House, Orange by Source Architects

Termimesh Timber Award
Winner – Bangalow Farmhouse, Bangalow by DFJ Architects

Vision Award
Commendation – Coffs Coast Wildlife Centre by Regional Architects

Related Images: