NSW Architecture Prizes

Marion Mahony Griffin Prize

Named for the pioneering woman architect, Marion Mahony Griffin, this prize was established to acknowledge a distinctive body of work by a female architect, be it for their contribution to: architectural education; journalism; research; theory; professional practice; or built architectural work.
Nominations open Monday 4 March and will close Sunday 15 September 2019.

David Lindner Prize 

This prize is named in memory of the architect David Lindner who disappeared whilst travelling in Iran in 1993. Initiated by David Lindner’s family as a means to honour his memory, this prize aims to inspire graduates and emerging architects to engage in important and challenging design issues involving the public realm through a funded body of research.
Submissions open from Thursday 23 May and will close Thursday 17 October.

The Reconciliation Prize (extended to Wednesday 18 September)

The Reconciliation Prize seeks to recognise architecture and professional practice in NSW which advances the rights of Aboriginal and Torres Strait people.
Submissions open from Friday 26 July and will close on Wednesday 18 September (previously Sunday 15 September 2019).

Christopher Procter Prize

This prize is named in memory of the architect and urban designer Christopher Procter. It provides an emerging architect, who has demonstrated a commitment and passion for the design of cities, with the opportunity for research based travel or study to enrich their professional development.
Submissions open from Monday 29 July and will close on Sunday 15 September 2019.

Best in Practice Prize (closed on Thursday 12 September)

The Best in Practice Prize recognises excellence in practice, with a focus on the development of supportive and inclusive workplaces and contributing to the overall success and elevation of a positive workplace culture in Architecture.
Submissions open from Monday 5 August and will close on Thursday 12 September (previously Thursday 5 September 2019).

Adrian Ashton Prize for Architectural Culture & Literature

Adrian Ashton Prize is awarded to an outstanding piece of architectural reporting and criticism. Open to journalists, editors, authors, producers and others reporting on architecture and design in NSW, the prize recognises quality communication, public engagement and high-quality debate.
Submissions open from Thursday 15 August and will close on Sunday 15 September 2019.

NSW President’s Prize

This prize is awarded at the discretion of the NSW Chapter President and is given to an individual who has made a substantial contribution to the profession of architecture.

The following Prizes are selected from all eligible entrants to the main NSW Architecture Awards program, and no separate entry or nomination is required.

Emerging Architect Prize – sponsored by AWS
The Emerging Architect Prize
recognises an emerging architect or architectural collaboration’s contribution to architectural practice, education, design excellence and community involvement that advances the profession’s standing in the public arena.
Nominees can either put themselves forward with a self-nomination, or can be a nomination made by a member of the Australian Institute of Architects. Nominated candidates will be invited to continue with the submission. Should they wish to accept the nomination, the nominee will be asked to submit the entry material listed on this webpage via the online entry system. Winners at a Chapter level proceed to be considered for the National Emerging Architects Prize.

NSW Architecture Medallion
The highest honour awarded by the NSW Chapter. The NSW Architecture Medallion is selected by the Jury Chairs from the field of Named Award winners across all categories.
2018 – Joynton Avenue Creative Precinct by Peter Stutchbury Architecture in association with Design 5 – Architects for City of Sydney

City of Sydney Lord Mayor’s Prize for Design Excellence
The City of Sydney Lord Mayor’s Prize is awarded to a project that improves the quality of the public domain through architectural or urban design excellence. The project is to be located within the City of Sydney local government area, and may be for or include public art. The project team should include a member of the Australian Institute of Architects. A shortlist is to be compiled from entrants in the NSW Architecture Awards by the City of Sydney Council’s Director of City Planning, Development and Transport. Eligible entries can be from all categories, except single residential dwelling houses and residential alterations and additions. The Lord Mayor selects the winner from the shortlist.

Blacket Prize
Established 1984 Awarded to a project situated in country New South Wales that promotes design excellence in a regional context. This Prize was named for the 19 century architect Edmund Blacket whose picturesque Gothic Revival style churches can still be found in many country towns.
This regional prize is awarded to a project situated in the area encompassed by the Newcastle & Country Divisions. It is judged by Jury Chairs in consultation with Country and Newcastle Division Committees.

NSW Premier’s PrizeThis prize is awarded by the NSW Premier from a shortlist of projects selected by the NSW Government Architect which are of benefit to the people of NSW – whether they be educational, cultural, transport or accommodation facilities.