Newcastle Architecture Awards

The Newcastle Architecture Awards are a regional program held annually as part of the Australian Institute of Architect’s National Awards program.

As well as recognising the best new architecture in Newcastle, the awards are also an important opportunity to celebrate the work of Newcastle and regional members’ pursuits of design excellence, and their collaborations with architects from across NSW. Open to projects located in the Newcastle region, winners of the Newcastle Architecture Awards have the opportunity to progress to be considered at state level via the NSW Architecture Awards.

Entries for the 2017 Newcastle Architecture Awards are now closed. Thank you to all this year’s entrants.


2017 NSW & Newcastle Architecture Award Winners


43 Ocean Street North Avoca by Genton Architecture Photo: Rodrigo Vargas

The 2017 Newcastle Architecture Awards were announced on Thursday 9 March at a presentation evening at the Merewether Surfhouse, with twenty projects recognised across eleven categories.

The complex alteration of a modest four-unit, beachside structure by Genton Architecture took top honours; the ‘enigmatic and innovative’ 43 Ocean Street North Avoca was recognised with both the Award for Excellence and Award for Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing. Award winners are now eligible to progress to the NSW state awards.




Logo_Newcastle Awards






How to Enter

Entries for the 2017 Newcastle Architecture Awards are now closed. Entries for the 2018 program will open in November 2017.

Before starting an entry, members are strongly advised to read through the 2017 Newcastle Architecture Awards Entry Handbook and Awards Policy, which includes all relevant requirements for both state and national awards (including Newcastle).

Online Entry: Awards submissions are made via an online entry system, and supplemented with additional entry materials. Entries are required to include a selection of digital images, drawings and plans which are also submitted via the online system. Online entries should be completed, paid and submitted before the closing date.

Additional compulsory entry materials: In addition to their online entry, entrants must produce a display board to support their entry. This A1 exhibition board will be used for consideration by the jury, and may also go on public display at the Newcastle Awards event. Please refer to the 2017 Newcastle Architecture Awards Entry Handbook for more information. 

Display boards should be delivered before the closing date of 25 January to:
C/O: Australian Institute of Architects – NSW Chapter, Level 1, 3 Manning Street, Potts Point, NSW 2011

Entry Fees

  • Standard Entry fee: $350
  • A+ Membership discount (10%): $315
  • Payments are to be made via the online entry system.
  • Winners of Newcastle Awards will be required to pay an additional State entry fee to be considered for the NSW State Awards. Progression to State level is encouraged but optional. 

 Key dates

  • Online entries open: 7 November 2016
  • Online entries close: 23 January 2017
  • Submission of additional material: 25 January 2017
  • Jury Visits: Wednesday 8 – Thursday 9 February 2017
  • Awards Presentation: Thursday 9 March 2017

Award Categories and Prizes

The following categories are awarded at the Newcastle Architecture Awards. Some National Award categories (Urban Design, Enduring Architecture) are not assessed in this regional program:

  • Public Architecture
  • Educational Architecture
  • Residential Architecture – Houses New
  • Residential Architecture  – Houses Alterations and Additions
  • Residential Architecture – Multiple Housing
  • Commercial Architecture
  • Heritage
  • Interior Architecture
  • Small Project Architecture
  • Sustainable Architecture – Awards are conferred after considering all entries across all categories
  • Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture – Awards are conferred after considering all entries across all categories
  • Newcastle Jury Prize – Best overall contribution to Newcastle architecture. No fees apply for this award and all entries will be considered by the jury.

For detailed explanations of each entry category please refer to the 2017 Newcastle Architecture Awards Entry Handbook.

Expressions of interest for 2017 jury members are now closed. Applications are under review and final jury selections will be announced soon. If you are interested in becoming an awards juror in future years, please click here for more information.  

Selection Process

  • Juries review completed online entries after the closing date.
  • All entered projects are then visited by the jury. Entrants will be contacted individually regarding site visit arrangements.
  • Award winners are announced at the Newcastle Architecture Awards Presentation Night in March.

For all enquiries relating to the Newcastle Architecture Awards please contact Jo Huxley on 02 6121 2007 or email 



2016 Newcastle Architecture Award winners



The Axis House, Toronto, Jonathan Dawes in conjunction with EJE Architecture. Photo: Nathan Dawes

The 2016 Newcastle Architecture Awards were announced at a special event at Merewether Surfhouse on Thursday 17 March 2016. Sixteen projects from across the region received honours on the night, with The Axis House by Jonathan Dawes in conjunction with EJE Architecture the overall winner, taking home the Award for Excellence.

A full list of winning projects from the 2016 Newcastle Architecture Awards is available here, and a gallery of award winning projects here